Building One America 2017 Honorees

Building One America is pleased to honor these five exemplary leaders at the Fifth National Summit for Inclusive Communities and Sustainable Regions, Philadelphia, July20-21

Opportunity America Award 

Kenneth E. Rigmaiden, General President, International Union of Painters And Allied Trades


Clayola Brown, President, A. Philip Randolph Institute

Mr. Rigmaiden, began his career with the International Union of Painters and Allied Trades in 1977 in an apprenticeship training program at Local 1288 in San Jose, California.  Mr. Rigmaiden was elevated to the position of Executive General Vice President for the International Union of Painters and Allied Trades in 2002, and unanimously elected to the office of general president by the IUPAT General Executive Board in March 2013. He is the first African American General President in the history of IUPAT.

Ms. Brown’s lifelong commitment to labor activism began in her hometown of Charlestown, South Carolina, where she—alongside her activist mother—campaigned to organize the Manhattan Shirt Factory.  In 1995, she was elected to the AFL-CIO Executive Council, where she served for 10 years. Clayola Brown began serving as National President of the A. Philip Randolph Institute, located in Washington, D.C., in August 2004 -- the first female to serve in that role.

The Steve LaTourette Unified America Award 

Congressman Charlie Dent, Representative, 15th District, Pennsylvania 

A lifelong resident of Allentown, PA. Congressman Charles (Charlie) Dent, was first sworn in to the United States House of Representatives in January 2005. He is currently serving his sixth term representing Pennsylvania’s working-class 15th District. Congressman Dent serves as the Chairman of the Military Construction and Veterans Affairs Subcommittee for the House Appropriations Committee. 

As co-chair of the Tuesday Group and a leader in the Republican Main Street Partnership, Congressman Dent has pursued bipartisan consensus and demonstrated a common sense approach to governing and seeking solutions that are in the interest of working families and a growing American middle class.

Congressman Dent was the recipient of the Steve LaTourette Unified America Award for Outstanding Bipartisan Leadership. The late Steve LaTourette, President and CEO of the Republican Main Street Partnership and former Congressman from Ohio's 14th District was the first recipient of this award now given in his in honor for his extraordinary efforts to bring our country and its leaders together

Inclusionary America Award

Eva Henry, Commissioner, Adams County, Colorado

A lifelong resident of Adams County and single working mother, Eva Henry started her career in politics in 2007 when she successfully ran for Thornton City Council.  She served in that capacity, winning re election in 2011, until being elected Commissioner for Adams County District 1. In both roles, Eva represented a solidly middle- to working-class, increasingly-diverse, and very bipartisan district. During her time, she has been a tireless and effective champion for inclusion and social equity in housing, jobs, education and transportation.  

The Summit recognized the outstanding achievements and contributions of these leaders

Please consider purchasing a sponsorship in honor of one of these champions of racial justice and economic opportunity.

We also remembered Joseph McNamara. 
Joe was a great friend of Building One America, Building One New Jersey and of social justice
As director of the New Jersey Laborers-Employers Cooperation and Education Trust (LECET) with the Laborers’ International Union of North America (LIUNA), he a was skilled and committed advocate and fighter for working families and for the labor movement.   
He will be missed.